You're reading...
The Hobby Pit

The Bandit! AKA The 1977 Pontiac Firebird 1/25 Scale Model Kit


Hey there hows it goin eh?  Welcome to The Bandit build.

You know I can still remember sitting on the couch with my father at a very young age and watching Smokey and the Bandit with my father, him laughing hysterically at the comedic genius of Burt Reynolds and Jackie Gleason, not to mention Jerry Reed playing The Snowman. At the time I didn’t get why my father was laughing I just laughed along with him because we were having fun. Obviously as I grew up and revisited the film that same comedic brilliance was not lost on me.

My father was actually responsible for me getting into modelling in the first place.  We would build model planes together when I was a kid.  Truth is I think I started the hobby back up because it reminds me of him.

If you haven’t seen Smokey and the Bandit I would suggest you crawl out from whatever rock you have been living under and check it out. Trust me its worth it.

Anywhoo, once again while walking around the local hobby store I stumbled across this beauty. The rest is pretty self-explanatory.

Peace!

GP

IMG_0444

The Bandit – 1977 Pontiac Firebird – 1/25 Scale Model Kit – So awesome.

IMG_0452

Working on The Bandit – Winter 2013

IMG_0448

First coats of paint being applied

IMG_0616

Engine Block Assembled

IMG_0619

Interior

IMG_0620

The Bandit starts to take shape. I love the fact that the Bandits hat comes with the kit. So wicked!

IMG_0621

Close up of the Engine

IMG_0624

Interior complete.

IMG_0628

Gotta love the T-Tops even though they had a tendency to leak like a bitch after a while lol.

IMG_0633

Gotta love the toothpick prop rod.

IMG_0644

I’m still convinced that the pinstripe decals for this kit were created in the depths of hell! Oh yeah.

IMG_0655

Painting the gold on these rims was so unnerving. But once the wee tiny phoenix decals and tires were added, I thought it was so cool and so worth the effort.

IMG_0656

The Hood

IMG_0657

Topside

IMG_0658

BAN ONE

IMG_0662

Almost complete.

IMG_0653

Can’t forget the hat!

WIN_20140202_223419

Thanks for stopping by. (I swear I am not angry in this picture) Peace! GP

Discussion

No comments yet.

Comment's Go Here Eh!

Enter your email address to follow GRUNTSTER PRODUCTIONS and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

The Latest From GP!

Bob Marley 2014 - 11 X 17 inches - Pencils.

GRUNTSTER PRODUCTIONS Community

Follow me on Twitter

Blogs I Dig!

Just The Stats Eh!

  • 1,251 hits eh!

The Gruntster’s Star Wars Episode 7 Countdown

May The Force Be With You EH!December 18th, 2015
I feel a disturbance in the force

GRUNTSTER PRODUCTIONS ARCHIVES

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

NicholasConley.com

Writings, Readings and Coffee Addictions

TwistedSifter

The Best of the visual Web, sifted, sorted and summarized

MIDST HOPE

Story of life

Scott B Henderson

Illustrator and comic book artist

Canadian Cinephile

"For me, cinema is a vice. I love it intimately." Fritz Lang

Theresa Wyatt's Blog

Rethinking Technology

mejfote

life fashion & more

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

WellDressedGeek - WDG

Random Photography, Fine Art and Fashion

Chris Brake Show Podcast

LIVE! Every Wednesday @ 8pm Eastern / 7pm Central on StrangeLabel.com

bobskyart

Loving living the dream, sadly I have to wake up from time to time.

Dan the Man's Movie Reviews

All my aimless thoughts, ideas, and ramblings, all packed into one site!

Jeyna Grace ©

Imagination, the perfect form of escapism.

